Bear In There by Shel Silverstein

There’s a Polar Bear

In our Frigidaire–

He likes it ’cause it’s cold in there.

With his seat in the meat

And his face in the fish

And his big hairy paws

In the buttery dish,

He’s nibbling the noodles,

He’s munching the rice,

He’s slurping the soda,

He’s licking the ice.

And he lets out a roar

If you open the door.

And it gives me a scare

To know he’s in there–

That Polary Bear

In our Fridgitydaire.

 

Bear In there came to my mind as I was searching for poems which in a way have spoken or are speaking to me at the moment. At first sight the poem Bear in There is a poem about somebodies troubles with a bear who has seemed to take residence in their fridge. He is making a seat of the meat and his face is in the fish and his paws are in the buttery dish. 

 

You begin to think to yourself oh these poor people having a bear doing such things to their fridge but you have to realize this is expressing an occurrence that happens in all households with teenagers living in them. I know from experience because I was one of those bears. To me this poem is written by a frustrated mother who is experiencing the difficulties of living with their teenaged son. 

 

In lines 4-11 Silverstein is expressing how rude the bear/teenager is especially while eating. With examples like his big hairy paws in the buttery dish and slurping the soda, Silverstein has successfully shown that this bear/teenager is not the most polite creature to live with. This is often an issue with teenagers, finally being old enough to comprehend how to cook and feed themselves but do yet do not realize they have to show common curtsy to the ones they are surrounded by. 

In lines 12-15 Silverstein expresses how if you disturb the bear/teenager they will lash out upon you. This at points can scare a parent as they don’t completely know their child anymore as they are changing from their innocent past. It also scares the parent that this may be what the bear/teenager will be like for the rest of their life. 

 

For Silverstein I believe she was going through a time in life where she had to face this bear/teenager. Most likely she was getting annoyed and frustrated about the actions of the ones living in her house, leading her to write a poem about her troubles. 

 

As I was writing this analysis my mother kept bugging me to clean my room as she believed it was messy and too put away my clothes. So like any teenager I told her I would do it later, she persisted that I do it and I continued to refuse and be a mess. This began to frustrate her until she forced me to, maybe my mom and Silverstein have something in common. 

Image 

Links:

http://allpoetry.com/poem/8538989-Bear_In_There-by-Shel_Silverstein

http://famouspoetsandpoems.com/poets/shel_silverstein/poems/14820

 
